The Arctic Semester in Sisimiut in the spring is mandatory in year one. Therefore, students on the Land Track always start their first year at DTU and take the second year at NTNU/UNIS.

See detailed course plan for the Land Track below.

Year 1: DTU, including Arctic Semester

Semester 1: DTU Lyngby Campus

Semester 2: DTU Sisimiut Campus, Greenland 


11563 Concrete Technology (5 ECTS)

11430 Advanced Engineering Geology (5 ECTS)

Plus elective courses (20 ECTS), for example:

11464 Advanced Soil Mechanics (5 ECTS)

11374 Seismic and Wind Engineering (10 ECTS)

11420 Mineral Resources (5 ECTS)

30532 Introduction to Digital Mapping and GIS (5 ECTS)

42281 Climate Change Adaption: Methods and Tools (5 ECTS)


11857 Extreme Climate & Physical Environment (5 ECTS)

11858 The Arctic Infrastructure & Societies (5 ECTS)

11859 Environmental Engineering in the Arctic  (5 ECTS)

11854 Infrastructure Constructions in the Arctic (15 ECTS)

More information about DTU's courses can be found here.

Year 2: NTNU or UNIS, including Master’s Thesis

Semester 1 and 2: NTNU or UNIS

Option 1: Arctic specialization (UNIS)

Semester 1

AT-301 - Arctic Infrastructures in a Changing Climate (10 ECTS)

TBA 4511 - Geotechnical Engineering, Specialization Project  (10 ECTS)

Plus elective courses (10 ECTS):

AT-332 - Physical Environmental Loads on Arctic Coastal and Offshore Structures (10 ECTS)

AS-303 - Emergency Preparedness and Response in the Arctic (10 ECTS)

AS-304 - The Risk, Technology and Human Performance in Arctic Operations (10 ECTS)

Semester 2

TBA4900 - Geotechnical Engineering, Master's Thesis (30 ECTS), at UNIS

Please note that it will only be possible to do your master's thesis at UNIS if this option is chosen.

Option 2: Geotechnics (NTNU autumn semester)

Semester 1

TBA4116 - Geotechnical Engineering, Advanced Course (7.5 ECTS)

TBA4510 - Geotechnical Engineering, Specialization Project (7.5 ECTS)

Elective courses:

Two technical courses to supplement the project work (15 ECTS)

Semester 2

TBA4900 - Geotechnical Engineering, Master's Thesis (30 ECTS) at NTNU

Option 3: Rock mechanics (NTNU autumn semester)

NB! This option can only be chosen with a background in rock mechanics.

Semester 1

TGB 4500 – Engineering Geology and Rock mechanics, Specialization Project (15 ECTS)

TGB 4212 – Rock Mechanics, Advanced Course (7.5 ECTS)

Elective course (7.5 ECTS)

Semester 2

TGB4930 - Engineering Geology and Rock Mechanics, Master's Thesis (30 ECTS) at NTNU

More information about courses at UNIS can be found here.

More information about courses at NTNU can be found here.
21 JANUARY 2020